Rachel Norwood – Three Principles Practitioner

The Gentle Path to Fulfillment

Insight Into Separate Realities

Leave a comment

For some reason this past week has been particularly favourable to insight, despite having three sick little people sick, and I’d like to share one them here with you (more to come, very likely)

Last Wednesday morning, as I was driving my husband to work after having got Colleen off to school I had an insight about Separate Realities.
It has been clear to me for quite some time now that each one of us lives in Separate Realities, but as I was driving along it suddenly hit me, BOOM, each one of us lives in Separate Realities.

Now for those of you thinking, “Well, Rachel you just repeated the same sentence” – well, yes of course you’re right! Let me explain.

Emma was taken into hospital last Tuesday night and I got to sleep really, very late, it must have been around 3am by the time they’d done all the blood tests, etc. After about three hours sleep, I got up and I drove home to get the kids off to school. When I got home Alistair was already up being sick too, so I just had to take care of Colleen (not to be outdone by anyone, she was sick on Thursday and Friday and Saturday and Sunday!)

I was pretty tired, as you might imagine, though my head was working fine and I was in a really good state of mind, but as I was driving my husband to work and myself back to the hospital, I started berating myself because instead of giving Colleen her usual school-day breakfast of bacon, eggs, tomatoes and cucumbers, I’d just given her a “quick” bowl of cereal. And I started to feel bad – I hadn’t taken proper and perfect care of my daughter before she went to school; somehow in there I was being a bad mum. “Why should my daughter be deprived of her usual breakfast just because I’m tired?!”

As I began to see that I was starting to feel bad through those thoughts, I saw that they were leading me in the direction of a lower state of mind, and, as is always the case, as soon as I saw that, I was already putting some distance between myself and the reality in consciousness of that thinking. Then it dawned on me, I could actually think “proud” thoughts about myself given that I got up after only a couple of hours’ sleep, drove an hour to get home, took care of Alistair, got Colleen ready for school, did the dishes before leaving and was now driving my husband to work before returning to the hospital.

And that’s when it hit me: Each one of us lives in Separate Realities – not in the sense of, “we each of us have one reality that we live in” but in the sense of, “there is an infinite number of realities that we can create within ourselves, each of us as individuals”

And it kind of made me realize that one of the biggest mistakes that we innocently make as human beings, is to believe that there is only one reality available to us at any given moment.

A few months ago, one of my friends house was broken into. For her, “it was a catastrophe, she would never be able to get over the loss of some precious, sentimental items, not to mention the fear. Her family would absolutely have to move house because her children would never get over the trauma of what had happened. It was the end of the world. And there was no possibility of seeing that any other way.”

Of course, it’s an understandable reaction to a burglary, we can see why she could think like that and create that reality. What people don’t know, and for those of us who do but often forget, is that it’s not the circumstance that creates the feelings, it’s our thoughts. Thought has been, is, and always will be the link between not just our circumstances and our feelings about them, but also the simple fact that we are alive and that we even have feelings. Without Thought there would be no feeling. It is our use, or innocent misuse of thought, that creates all the Separate Realities that we can experience.

For me, this awareness of Separate Realities available to us at any given time simply allows us to wait and see, to wait and see what reality Mind is going to come up with next. This awareness allows us to reach a higher level of trust in the unfolding. That, in itself, gives us hope and maintains our natural resiliency …

We cannot know what is going to happen tomorrow, we cannot know what’s going to happen even 5 seconds from now! What I do know is that in a situation similar to that of my friend, those Separate Realities allow us to turn our faces to the day and see it from a low(er) level of consciousness where everything is a struggle and an effort and incredibly hard, or we can turn our faces to the day and see it from a high(er) level of consciousness where we can manage the situation with (more) ease and grace

Love,

Signature

Author: Rachel Norwood - Three Principles Practitioner

Rachel Norwood is a Three Principles/Innate Health Practitioner registered with the Three Principles Global Community (3PGC), and author of “The Gentle Path to Definitive Weight Loss”

Leave a Reply

