Rachel Norwood – Three Principles Practitioner

The Gentle Path to Fulfillment

The Story of the Ring

Leave a comment

When I woke up this morning, I had a memory come to mind of something that happened when I was an adolescent and still living with my parents.

My mum and dad had decided to grow a vegetable garden – and my! did they! We had almost every vegetable you can imagine! Peas, carrots, green beans, potatoes, salads, tomatoes, cucumbers – and in such quantity! I don’t think we went food shopping for a year!

One day, while out gathering peas, my mum suddenly realized that she’d lost her wedding ring in the garden and she was distraught, searching frantically and shouting to me to come and help.

We must have searched in the dirt and all around the vegetables for an hour and a half without finding anything until my mum despondently gave up saying that her ring must have got trampled into the ground and we would never find it now.

But I wasn’t buying it! Part of me just wanted to find the ring to make her happy (though let’s leave Freud out of it!), but mostly, I just had this very sure sense of calm and I was convinced, I had faith, that it was still possible to find it.
After all, my mum had lost the ring in the garden, it was just common sense that it should still be there somewhere.

In order to get a better look, I took a few steps back towards the house but I couldn’t see anything …
I stood on the back doorstep and I still couldn’t see anything…
I couldn’t see anything either from the kitchen window …

And then it dawned on me to go upstairs and to look from my room that looked over the garden. My mum, convinced that we would never find the ring, pooh-poohed the idea, saying that it was a waste of time, the ring was lost forever!

Nevertheless, I climbed the stairs leading to my room and peered hopefully from my window. And as I looked, the sun came out (hey, we lived in Scotland, that’s a rare occurrence!) and all of a sudden I could see something glistening right down there by the peas!

I called my mum to go and look and I tried to guide her, but she was still in the frame of mind that it was lost and that I was just imagining seeing it. She thought that the glistening I saw was a raindrop on a leaf in the sun …

By this time, she was getting surely angry – not only had she lost her ring, but here I was sending her on a wild goose chase into the garden anew, the place where we had already frantically searched without finding anything. So she said to me, “if you see it, you find it! I give up!”

But I had seen it, I knew it was there and I knew that because I’d seen it, I would be able to find it, to touch it.
So I went downstairs and back into the garden. I walked along the row of peas, slowly and carefully. I walked into the ray of sunshine and turned my head to look at the plants … and there it was! Caught on one of the highest branches of a pea plant was my mother’s wedding ring.

It had been there all the time, but it was only possible to see it from a higher perspective; and once the ring was found from that higher perspective, even at ground level it was possible to find it, simply because I already knew it was there.
We could have scrabbled around in the earth without ever finding it, or it would have taken us a very long time but looking at the garden from a higher point of view was what allowed me to find the ring.

And so it is with our human nature. When we are in trouble with our thoughts we can scrabble around in the darkness, hoping to find the glistening light, hoping to find that comforting thought, but it would take a really long time and there’s a chance that we might never find it.
But when we look at the same situation from a higher perspective, from a different point of view, that is where we are more able to see and find what we are looking for. We always have the possibility, no matter what, of taking a step back from our frantic searching and to allow our innateness to shine through naturally on its own – we don’t have to do anything because, like the ring was always in the garden, our innateness, that beautiful feeling of peace, is always there.

What allows us to take that step back, what allows us to be able to see the whole picture from a different perspective, comes through the understanding of where our human experience is coming from in the first place; how we really function psychologically – how our experience is coming from Mind, the energy of life, and is brought into feeling Consciousness via the guide of Thought. It is as simple as that – just as there was a beautiful simplicity in going upstairs to look out the window of my room to see the ring. I didn’t have to make an effort, I didn’t have to analyze or strategize in order to work that out – it just seemed like the right thing to do … and it’s what gave the clarity of sight.

Understanding how we create our human experience moment to moment is what brings that clarity of sight, and there is no analysis or strategy that can make that happen. The ring appeared out of nowhere, and so it is with insight

Love,
Rachel

sweet-peas

Author: Rachel Norwood - Three Principles Practitioner

Rachel Norwood is a Three Principles/Innate Health Practitioner registered with the Three Principles Global Community (3PGC), and author of “The Gentle Path to Definitive Weight Loss”

Leave a Reply

